About the Show




Jeopardy.com | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram




JEOPARDY! is in its 37th season in syndication. With a weekly audience of 24 million viewers, JEOPARDY! is the top-rated quiz show on television, and has received numerous awards and honors, including the 2020 Emmy® for Outstanding Game Show. The show holds the Guinness World Records® title for the most Emmy® Awards won by a TV game show (38 Emmys); it is also the recipient of a 2011 Peabody Award.


Created by Merv Griffin in 1964, JEOPARDY! is a daily half-hour quiz show with a unique answer-and-question format. Alex Trebek is the host; Johnny Gilbert serves as announcer; and Mike Richards is executive producer.




JEOPARDY! provides a test of knowledge across a variety of interesting subjects such as literature, history, science, the arts, and pop culture. Each game consists of three rounds:


  • The Jeopardy! Round: Includes six categories, each with a column of five clues. The “clues” are sorted by varying degrees of difficulty and are matched by increasing dollar values. Three competing contestants are given a “clue” in the form of an answer displayed on the show’s game board. Players use a hand-held signaling device and must be the first contestant to ring in and successfully give a response in the form of a question.


One “Daily Double” (a special clue hidden behind another clue) is available during this round. Only the contestant who uncovers the “Daily Double” can respond to the clue, and before that clue is read, the contestant must declare a wager. The minimum wager is $5.


  • Double Jeopardy!: Similar to the first round, Double Jeopardy! features new categories and “clues” with doubled dollar amounts for each “clue.”


Two “Daily Doubles” are available in the Double Jeopardy! round.


  • Final Jeopardy!: One category is revealed by host Alex Trebek prior to the commercial break. The contestants write down a wager ranging between zero and up to their cash winnings accumulated at that point during the show. Once the final “clue” is revealed, players have 30 seconds to write a response in the traditional form of a question.


Each daily winner returns to the next day’s program as a defending champion. With no limit on appearances, returning champions may continue amassing winnings on JEOPARDY! as long as they remain victorious.




JEOPARDY! offers an array of special competitions throughout the season. Examples include:


  • Tournament of Champions: The JEOPARDY! champions who have won the most games during the prior season, plus the winners of the Teachers Tournament and College Championship, return to the stage to compete against one another for a $250,000 grand prize.


  • College Championship: Undergraduate students from colleges and universities across the U.S. vie for a grand prize of $100,000.


  • Teachers Tournament: Introduced in 2011, the Teachers Tournament puts a national spotlight on the importance and impact of educators with 15 of the nation’s brightest K-12 teachers.


  • Teen Tournament: High schoolers compete in a two-week tournament for a grand prize of $100,000


JEOPARDY! is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company; it is distributed domestically by CBS Television Distribution and internationally by CBS Television International, both units of CBS Corp.


For more information, please visit Jeopardy.com.





Alison Shapiro

Susie Eun